Make your own Laundry Detergent

laundry1I’m using the homemade laundry detergent recipe for “Super Laundry Sauce for Dummies” from Budget101.com. Say goodbye to $20 containers of detergent and wash 128 Loads of Laundry for about $1.76.

Here’s your supply and equipment list:

1 Entire Bar of Fels Naptha Soap*
3 c. water
1 cup 20 Mule Team Borax Powder*
1 cup Arm & Hammer Washing Soda* (not Baking Soda)
2 Quart sized Mason Jars
A blender with a removable bottom

* NOTE * – WalMart apparently KNOWS that people are making this stuff, because you can find all three of these “unusual” ingredients sitting right next to each other in the laundry stain remover section.  SUPER EASY to pick up all three at once.

I used “Method #1″ on this page, but I have a few tips to add to their instructions.

1. When I mixed my “pea sized” Fels Naptha bar and boiling water, the two did not fully incorporate but began to separate into two layers. I noticed this was happening, so I got a long teaspoon and stirred them up together… that’s all it took… the layer finally solidified the way it was supposed to.

2. The next day, after you add the remaining ingredients and the boiling water, BE VERY CAREFUL to get the rubber gasket lined up before turning the jar over. On my first jar I wasn’t careful with this and leaked scalding water on my hands. OUCH! On my second jar, as you can see from the picture below, I still must not have gotten them completely lined up because it began to ooze out a bit while I was whipping.

laundry3

3. Be sure to keep your blender on the LOWEST SPEED until the Fels Naptha gel layer melts and falls down to the blender knives area. Do not turn your blender up to WHIP until those two have had a chance to combine for a while. Otherwise, you may bend your blender blades the way I did… Arrgh! :P

4. To store my supplies for the next batch, I cut the tops off of the two boxes, down close to where the powder was, and that made each box small enough to fit into a gallon zip-top bag.

laundry2

5. And finally, as you can see from the picture at the very top of this blog post, I used a piece of yarn to tie an old Tablespoon to my jar of laundry sauce for easy dispensing.

Happy laundering!
:-)

Your Thoughts...

